Spring, Evaluations, and Tantrums

May 024Spring has officially arrived here in eastern Pennsylvania.  For the past week and a half, the girls and I have spent every waking moment outside in the sunshine.  Laundry has been dried on the line, making our clothing and bedding smell amazing.  Over the weekend Chev and I built, painted, and filled a couple of raised garden beds.

We also picked up my parents’ grill, picnic table, and benches.  Why?  Because they don’t want them any more.  They still work perfectly well, but they want new ones.  Who am I to complain?  If they want to give me their still-working stuff, I’m not going to say no.

We painted the picnic table and benches, as well.  And we only had one accident! Laurel dumped half a quart of paint onto our concrete patio.  Luckily we have to remove it in order to meet city code anyway.  We had our first grilled meal in almost three years, while sitting outside on our patio.  Laurel thinks this is the coolest thing, ever.  She now wants to eat every meal outside.  Ellie was not overly impressed, but she doesn’t enjoy the great outdoors quite as much as her sister.  She doesn’t deal with the sun well.

Laurel loves the great outdoors so much, in fact, that she gets REALLY mad when night falls and she has to come inside.  Allow me to transcribe the conversation (read: tantrum) we had the other night.
Laurel:  Momma!  It is dark!
Me: Yep, it’s night time.
Laurel:  I no want-a it dark!  I want-a the sun!
Me:  Well, I’m sorry, but you’re going to have to wait until tomorrow for the sun.
Laurel:  NO!  I NO WANT DARK.  I WANT SUN.  BRING BACK DA SUN.  MAKE IT LIGHT!
Me:  Tough, kid.

While I appreciate that my child apparently thinks I’m a God, I am, in fact, not one.  Try explaining the cycle of the sun and earth to a screaming toddler.  Let me know how that works for you.

On a more serious note, today was a big day for our little Ellie Bean.

Today she had her transition evaluation through Early Intervention.  She will be three in a couple of months, and that is when her therapies (physical, occupational, and speech) transition from in-home to in-school.  She’ll get all new therapists in an all new environment.  I’m not overly thrilled by the idea, but what can you do?  You do the best thing for you kid.

So, the evaluation was at a local IU-run preschool (for kids wish special needs), and was conducted by a physical therapist, occupational therapist, speech therapist, social worker, and teacher.  (At least I think that’s what the other two people were.  I’m not really sure.  It gets confusing after a while.)  They all sit around a little table in kid-sized chairs as Ellie plays with different toys, points out pictures in a book, ect.  Then they have her walk around, climb stairs, walk up and down an incline, ect.  They ask me a bunch of questions about her routine, her likes and dislikes, ect.  (Sorry for all of the ects.  I’d bore you to death if I listed everything.)

Long story short, our Bunny did awesome.  Seriously, she rocked this evaluation.  The therapists even commented that she did a lot better than they expected (which makes me wonder what they expected…)  Her eyes slowed her down for some of the tasks, because she has issues with depth perception, but she would persist at the tasks until she figured them out.  They were so impressed.  And so was I!  She did things for them that she’s been refusing to do for me.  Little Bugger.

We won’t get the report with all of their results until mid- to late-June.  That report will be broken down into various categories (gross motor, fine motor, cognitive, speech, ect), giving a developmental age for each one, along with a percent delay.  For example, her gross motor age might be 12 months, because she is just starting to walk.  So her percent delay is pretty high, since she is 34 months.  Her cognitive age will likely be closer to her real age, maybe around 30 months, so her percent delay will be lower.  This is the stuff that will help determine what kind of therapies she will be getting in the future. It will also help determine what sort of preschool she’ll be in. (IU-run or regular or a combo of both.)  We’ll have a big meeting in July to draw up her IEP (basically a plan to help her reach her potential).  Until then, we just wait and bask in the glow of Ellie’s awesomeness.

Until Monday, when she has her eye surgery….but that is a blog for another day.

Leave a Reply

