Outrage

So I got a message from a friend, wondering if why I haven’t posted my two cents about the whole Duck Dynasty thing that is going on.  Honestly?  Because I don’t care.  Really, I don’t.
I don’t care what some reality show guy who prides himself on being a bible-thumping redneck thinks about homosexuality.  (He doesn’t like it…SHOCKER!)  I don’t care that A&E covered their asses and suspended him.  (It’s just good business, folks.)  I’m not outraged over what he said.  I’m not outraged over what they did.  I. Don’t. Care.

If anything, I’m just filled with disappointment.  I’m disappointed with the media.  I’m disappointed with the American people.  Where is your outrage over the eight year old girls who are forced into marriage with sixty year old men in India?  Where is your outrage over the people dying in the civil war in the Sudan?  Where is your outrage that there are starving children right here, in the United States, but politicians are still pushing to cut funding for food stamps?  Where is your outrage over the fact that American students rank 29th in the world for math and 20th for reading, yet we allow huge cuts to education budgets?  Where is your outrage over the toxic chemicals that food companies spray on the produce we feed our kids?  Where is your outrage over the fact that one in every five women will be sexually assaulted during her lifetime, but  60% of them won’t tell anyone or press charges because they think it is somehow their fault?  Where is your outrage over anything that actually matters?

I am disappointed.  I am not surprised, but I am disappointed.

Show some sense of scope, people.

Leave a Reply

