Gold Star

Ellie is my Gold Star

Ellie is my Gold Star

I received an anonymous message from someone who asked if I had ever considered the possibility that having a child with Down syndrome was a punishment from God for going against his natural design and bringing children into a house of sin.

Once I finished laughing, I decided to answer this person publicly.

No. No, I have never considered having a child with Down syndrome to be a punishment for being gay and daring to have children.

In fact, I have never considered having a child with Down syndrome to be a punishment for anything. The idea that Ellie was sent as a punishment is completely laughable. She is the sweetest, most wonderful child I’ve ever known. She lights up my days, fills my heart with music, and brings me more joy than anyone or anything else ever has. If that is a punishment, sign me up for more!

I have never believed that the powers that be go around handing out punishments and rewards based on our actions. But if they did, Ellie would be a reward. The best reward. In fact, if that IS the way that it works, then I’d be willing to bet that the parents of kids with Down syndrome all did something REALLY great at some point.

As for the implication that being gay should be punished…. Kindly go fuck yourself. I refuse to get into the whole gay/sin issue here, just for your benefit. I will simply say that being gay isn’t a choice. It is how I was made. And guess who made me? Yeah, the big guy upstairs. In his image. Just like you. Who the hell are you to judge me, just because I was made differently from you? Please un”Like” me and go live out your life in bigotry somewhere else.

So…there you go. Ellie can’t possibly be a punishment for Chev and I being gay. Because God doesn’t go around handing out gold stars and demerits for being who He meant us to be. And if He did, Ellie would be the brightest gold star of all.

4 thoughts on “Gold Star

  1. Well said…I am” strait” and got a gold star too…they are gifts….you don’t even have to be near our children for long for their glory to shine through and make you smile… blessing

Leave a Reply

