The Song of my People

To the tune of “The Twelve Days of Christmas”

The first weird thing that a stranger said to me was “Twins?!  Wow, better you than me.”
The second weird thing that a stranger said to me was “Hey look, Double Trouble!” and “Oh man, better you than me.”
The third weird thing that a stranger said to me was “Which one is your favorite?,” “Hey look, Double Trouble!,” and “Oh man, better you than me.”

The fourth weird thing that a stranger said to me was “Are they both boys?,” “Which one is your favorite?,” “Hey look, Double Trouble!,” and “Oh man, better you than me.”

The fifth weird thing that a stranger said to me was “ARE THEY NATURAL?????,” “Are they both boys?,” “Which one is your favorite?,” “Hey look, Double Trouble!,” and “Oh man, better you than me.”

The sixth weird thing that a stranger said to me was “Are you having more?,” “ARE THEY NATURAL?????,” “Are they both boys?,” “Which one is your favorite?,” “Hey look, Double Trouble!,” and “Oh man, better you than me.”

The seventh weird thing that a stranger said to me was “My uncle’s neighbor is a twin.”  “Are you having more?,” “ARE THEY NATURAL?????,” “Are they both boys?,” “Which one is your favorite?,” “Hey look, Double Trouble!,” and “Oh man, better you than me.”

The eighth weird thing that a stranger said to me was “Are they paternal?,”  “My uncle’s neighbor is a twin.”  “Are you having more?,” “ARE THEY NATURAL?????,” “Are they both boys?,” “Which one is your favorite?,” “Hey look, Double Trouble!,” and “Oh man, better you than me.”

The ninth weird thing that a stranger said to me was “Do they run in your family?,”  “Are they paternal?,”  “My uncle’s neighbor is a twin.”  “Are you having more?,” “ARE THEY NATURAL?????,” “Are they both boys?,” “Which one is your favorite?,” “Hey look, Double Trouble!,” and “Oh man, better you than me.”

The tenth weird thing that a stranger said to me was “Did you have a c-section?,”  “Do they run in your family?,”  “Are they paternal?,”  “My uncle’s neighbor is a twin.”  “Are you having more?,” “ARE THEY NATURAL?????,” “Are they both boys?,” “Which one is your favorite?,” “Hey look, Double Trouble!,” and “Oh man, better you than me.”

The eleventh weird thing that a stranger said to me was “Were they premature?,”  “Did you have a c-section?,”  “Do they run in your family?,”  “Are they paternal?,”  “My uncle’s neighbor is a twin.”  “Are you having more?,” “ARE THEY NATURAL?????,” “Are they both boys?,” “Which one is your favorite?,” “Hey look, Double Trouble!,” and “Oh man, better you than me.”

And I replied to the strangers who asked these things of me “No, 38 freaking weeks.”  “Let’s not discuss my vagina.”  “They run all freaking day.”  “No, they are fatherless bastards.”  “Great to know other twins are out there.” “Hell no hell no hell no.”  “NO.  THEY ARE ALIENS!”  “Did the pink tutus tip you off?”  “Whoever isn’t crying.”  “Oh, aren’t you clever?”  and “If that is how you feel, then I have to agree!!”

Leave a Reply

